The Prodigy

The Prodigy

British electronic group, founded in 1990. Their first release was single "What Evil Lurks" (1991). Their early music was mostly rave/breakbeat, but has become more mainstream mixing in rock guitars with the third album "The Fat Of The Land" (1997).

Band members:
- [a=Liam Howlett] (head of the group; producer).
- [a=Keith Flint] (vocals, dancing).
- [a=Maxim] (MCing, vocals).
(- [a=Leeroy Thornhill] (dancing) – former longterm member).

The original Prodigy line-up was Liam on keyboards and Leeroy, Keith and Sharky as dancers. Maxim was recruited at short notice to MC at their debut gig at Labrynth in Dalston, London. Sharky left the group at Christmas 1990 after they got their record deal with XL as she didn't want to devote more time to the band. Their initial deal with XL was for 4 singles, with XL paying a £1500 advance prior to the first single.

The Prodigy briefly used the pseudonym [a=Earthbound (6)] (named after Liam's studio) for the original white-label summer releases of "One Love" (1993). [a=Leeroy Thornhill] left the band in 2000.


Liam Howlett
Keith Flint
Keith Palmer
Leeroy Thornhill