Yngwie J. Malmsteen's Rising Force

Yngwie J. Malmsteen's Rising Force

This profile is for the [b]band[/b] Yngwie J. Malmsteen’s Rising Force, frequently aka Yngwie Malmsteen.

For [b]the composer, guitarist and multi-instrumentalist[/b] Yngwie Malmsteen, aka Yngve Malmsten, Yngwie J. Malmsteen and Yngwie Johann Malmsteen, you should use the [a277598] profile.

Most of the albums with his name on should be considered band releases:
In 1984, while still in Alcatrazz, Yngwie decided to take full control over his career by re-establishing his old Rising Force group name. He reconnected with ex-member Jens Johansson (keys) and brought in Jeff Scott Soto (vocals) for the recording of “Rising Force”. Bass was handled by Yngwie, which he still continues to do on many of his group albums. Most of these tracks are from the early Rising Force period.

Late in 1984 new material was written for the next album with preparations for a tour. Yngwie brought back more old Rising Force members in Anders Johansson (drums) and Marcel Jacob (bass). The new “Yngwie J. Malmsteen’s Rising Force” group was finally re-established, and they recorded the second album “Marching Out”.

The album titles “Trilogy” for the 3rd album, and “The Seventh Sign” for the 7th studio album, suggests a connection between both “Yngwie J. Malmsteen’s Rising Force” and “Yngwie Malmsteen” as group names. So does the general mix of songs performed live on tour, and the fact that the Odyssey album and tour were both done as Yngwie J. Malmsteen’s Rising Force, but the live album from the tour, “Trial By Fire - Live In Leningrad” was released under the Yngwie Malmsteen name. Same group, but two different names.



Cozy Powell
Don Airey
Anders Johansson
Barriemore Barlow
Barry Dunaway
Barry Sparks
Bo Werner
Derek Sherinian
Doogie White
Frankie Banali
Jeff Scott Soto
Jens Johansson
Joakim Svalberg
John Levén
John Macaluso
Jonas Östman (2)
Joseph Arthur Linquito
Jørn Lande
Marcel Jacob
Mark Boals
Mats Levén
Mats Olausson
Michael Vescera
Michael Von Knorring
Mick Cervino
Mike Terrana
Nick Marinovich
Patrick Johansson (2)
Patrick Young
Pete Barnacle
Peter Olsson (3)
Ralph Ciavolino
Randy Coven
Ripper Owens
Rudy Sarzo
Shane Gaalaas
Svante Henryson
Wally Voss
Yngwie Malmsteen
Zepp Urgard