Dire Straits

Dire Straits

British rock band formed in 1977 by Mark Knopfler, David Knopfler, John Illsley and Pick Withers. The group first split up in 1988 but reformed in 1991 and then disbanded again in 1995.

Full-time band members:
[a=Mark Knopfler] – lead guitar, lead vocals (1977–1995)
[a=John Illsley] – bass guitar, backing vocals (1977–1995)
[a=Alan Clark] – keyboards (1980–1995)
[a=Guy Fletcher] – synthesizer, backing vocals (1984–1995)
[a=David Knopfler] – rhythm guitar, keyboards, backing vocals (1977–1980)
[a=Pick Withers] – drums, percussion (1977–1982)
[a=Terry Williams (3)] – drums (1982–1989)
[a=Jack Sonni] – rhythm guitar (1985–1988)
[a=Hal Lindes] – rhythm guitar, backing vocals (1980–1985)

Touring/session members:
[a=Joop de Korte] – percussion
[a=Mel Collins] – saxophone
[a=Tommy Mandel] – keyboards
[a=Chris White] – saxophone
[a=Chris Whitten] – drums, percussion
[a=Phil Palmer] – guitar
[a=Paul Franklin] – pedal steel guitar
[a=Danny Cummings] – percussion



Pick Withers
Mark Knopfler
Alan Clark
David Knopfler
Guy Fletcher
Hal Lindes
Jack Sonni
John Illsley
Terry Williams (3)